At The Law Office of Lisa Pelosi, we understand that domestic violence charges can be scary to face. They can leave you uncertain about the future and have long-term consequences that extend far beyond your day in court. Today’s post features a few of the most common questions we receive regarding domestic violence charges in New York.

We know that every domestic violence case is different, so please keep in mind that there are no one-size-fits-all answers. If you would like to consult with an experienced New York domestic violence lawyer about your specific circumstances, contact The Law Office of Lisa Pelosi. As an experienced criminal defense attorney and former prosecutor, you can count on Lisa to provide you with the competent and aggressive representation you need during a trying time.

Common Questions About Domestic Violence Charges

How Is Domestic Violence Defined?

Domestic violence is a crime defined by familial relations. This includes:

  • People who are are related by consanguinity or affinity
  • People who are legally married
  • People who were formally married
  • People with a child in common
  • People who are in an intimate relationship but do not live in the same household

Domestic violence is not a singular offense in New York. Instead, it refers to several different charges such as:

  • Stalking
  • Assault
  • Menacing
  • Battery
  • Restraining order violation
  • Sexual assault
  • Sexual abuse

These charges range in severity and include misdemeanors and felonies.

What Are the Penalties?

The penalties for a domestic violence charge depend on the circumstances, the offender’s history, and numerous other factors.

Family offenses such as first-degree assault can include a penalty of 5 to 10 years in prison or a fine of up to $50,000. Third-degree assault, fourth-degree stalking, harassment, and other misdemeanor offenses have consequences such as up to one year in prison and fines of up to $1,000.

Banner reading "have you been arrested?

What Should I Do After Being Arrested for Domestic Violence?

If you have been arrested on domestic violence charges, the first thing you should do is ask for an attorney. You have the right to remain silent after being arrested, and anything you say to the police can be used as evidence against you.

In many cases, the police will tell you that this is your opportunity to tell your side of the story and to explain what happened. They are not looking for an excuse to let you go — they are doing everything in their power to build a body of evidence against you. Do not talk to inmates about your arrest or say anything to your friends and family, either.

If you call The Law Office of Lisa Pelosi, you can expect assistance from an experienced criminal defense attorney who has helped hundreds of people just like you. Lisa has won many notable domestic violence trials and knows how to fight aggressively for her clients.

We know that it isn’t easy to face domestic violence charges. When you call The Law Office of Lisa Pelosi, you don’t have to do it alone.

Call our office 24/7 to speak with a domestic violence attorney in New York who will put your interests first.