Powered by Top Rated Local®
917-670-7063

As we covered in an earlier blog post, “Call a DWI Attorney in NYC For Help,” driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious offense in New York.

The best-case scenario in general is to avoid these situations at all costs, but what happens when you’ve already committed the DWI?

Here are a few situations that could transpire after you are accused of a DWI.

If you have been accused of or charged with a DWI, be sure to seek the legal help of a criminal defense attorney as soon as you can.

First-Time DWI Offense

For drivers who are at least 21 years old, the following penalties might occur from a first-time DWI offense. According to the New York Department of Motor Vehicles, drivers might incur:

  • A suspended license for 90 days
  • A $300-500 fine
  • A $250 (minimum) annual assessment fine for three years, totaling at least $750
  • Up to 15 days in jail
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and costs associated with enrollment

While these consequences are certainly not ideal, they are much less restrictive than a second-time offense would be. If you do get a DWI, it behooves you to learn from this mistake, make all necessary reparations, follow court-mandated payments and courses, and avoid getting another DWI ever again.

Second-Time DWI Offense

If you are convicted of a second DWI within five years of your first, you are subject to more severe consequences, including:

  • A suspended or revoked license for up to six months
  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • A $250 (minimum) annual assessment fine for three years, totaling at least $750
  • Up to one year in jail
  • Potential enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and costs associated with enrollment

These potential consequences assume that you are above 18 years of age, only under the influence of alcohol, and that you had below a 0.18% BAC.

If you had a combination of drugs and alcohol in your system, the consequences become more severe. Similarly, if you blow at or above a 0.18 BAC, you’ll get an Aggravated DWI and your consequences will be more strict.

What Should You Do If You Get a DWI?

Getting a DWI might seem like something you just need to face on your own. However, it can be extremely beneficial to hire a criminal defense attorney in New York to represent you. Even if you don’t get “off the hook,” experienced criminal defense attorneys understand the nuances of New York DWI law, how to get the minimal fines and consequences, and how to support you through the process.

If you’ve been charged with a DWI in New York, call the Law Office of Lisa Pelosi today. With more than three decades of experience as an attorney in New York, Lisa Pelosi understands DWI convictions and might be able to help.

Call our law office in New York today.